Skip to content
Alert : Please Review The City's Coronavirus Update:

Boards & Committees

Learn more about the committees and representatives that continue to work to make Adel a great place to work and live. If you have questions and concerns about specific departments, you may contact the individual or individuals involved using the information below.

Agendas & Minutes

Please use the link above to access City agendas and minutes. Please note that the page will be updated periodically.

If you do not see a particular agenda, please check the Calendar page.

Proposed minutes will be available in agenda packets ahead of the next meeting. Approved minutes will be posted on the Agendas & Minutes page.

City Council and Mayor

The Adel City Council meets regularly on the second Tuesday of every month at 6:00 p.m. The council reserves the fourth Monday of every month for a second meeting if necessary. Special meetings and work sessions are scheduled on an as-needed basis. Meetings are typically held in the council chambers at Adel City Hall. Agendas are typically available on the Friday before the meeting.


Name Email Address Phone Term Ends
James F. Peters 925 S. 14th Street (515) 993-4436 2022

City Council

Name Email Address Phone Term Ends
Rob Christensen 820 Greenwood Hills Drive (515) 478-3260 2022
Shirley McAdon 1305 S. 15th Street (515) 993-4862 2024
Dan Miller 1815 S. 14th Street (515) 979-6119 2024
Bob Ockerman 1401 S. 13th Street (515) 238-9835 2024
Jodi Selby 1709 Court Street (515) 657-1315 2022

Mayor Pro Tem: Shirley McAdon

City Council Committees

The City Council committees meet on an as-needed basis when there is an item to be discussed. The purpose of the committees is to plan and develop rules and policy to recommend to the City Council. If you would like to address a committee regarding a certain issue you may contact a committee Chair or member, or call the City Administrator at (515) 993-4525 to be placed on the agenda. The committee members for each department are listed below — the Chair is the first name listed for each committee.

Finance and Budget

McAdon, Ockerman, Christensen
What this committee does: Works with staff to provide input and feedback during the budget preparation process. Reviews and makes recommendations on budget issues that occur throughout the year.

Personnel, Negotiating, and Insurance

Miller, Selby, McAdon
What this committee does: Reviews and negotiates wage and benefit packages for City employees. Reviews and approves various personnel actions and policies. Monitors and reviews claim history and provides input in reviewing and selecting the best insurance programs for the City.

Public Safety

Selby, McAdon, Ockerman
What this committee does: Reviews policy and issues involving the Police and Fire departments, First Responders and Disaster Services.

Water, Sewer and Sanitation

Ockerman, Christensen, Miller
What this committee does: Reviews plans and projects related to the sanitary sewer system, public water system, garbage collection, and recycling. Plans future growth and development of the systems and determines policy.

Streets, Alleys, and Sidewalks

Christensen, Miller, Selby
What this committee does: Review issues related to streets, sidewalks alleys, and other concerns related to the street department. Reviews plans for the growth, improvement, and maintenance of the street system.

Special Committees

From time to time the Mayor may designate a special committee to review and resolve a particular problem or issue.

Other City Boards and Commissions

Library Board

The Library Board sets policy and oversees the operation of the Library. Terms are for six (6) years and expire July 1 of the year listed.

Home Other
Lori Brocka (Chair) (515) 971-3520 (515) 327-9963 2022
Leslie Banwart (515) 491-6673 2024
Wayne Rebischke (612) 716-0948 2026
Dianne Fredin (504) 252-5002 2022
Megan Sibbel (515) 979-1228 2024
W.W. Van Buren (rural) (515) 993-4062 (515) 777-0707 2026
Dan Severidt (515) 321-0922 (515) 993-3490 2022

Planning and Zoning Commission

The Planning and Zoning Commission is responsible for making recommendations to the City Council regarding the City’s comprehensive plan, land use, changes in zoning, and review of subdivision plans or plats. This commission assures coordinated, adjusted, and harmonious development that will best promote the health, safety, morals, order, convenience, and general welfare of the City. Terms are for five (5) years and expire July 1 of date listed.

Home Other
Kent McAdon (Chair) (515) 993-4862 2021
Summer Portzen (563) 380-2112 2025
Christina Woods (515) 478-4302 2025
Scott Lyon (515) 865-8857 2024
Tom Waltz (515) 993-3577 (515) 974-7181 2023
Stephanie Poole (612) 275-4000 2021
Jonathan Fokken (515) 473-2839 2023

Board of Adjustment

The Board of Adjustment is responsible for administrative review of decisions made by the zoning officer and for hearing and deciding on requests for special exceptions and variances to the Zoning Code. Terms are for five (5) years and expire on July 1 of date listed.

Home Other
Larry Crannell (515) 993-4183 (515) 210-1706 2025
Sarah Whittlesey (515) 201-3132 2023
Dan Novelli (Chair) (515) 322-3078 2024
Karen Daniel (309) 945-3861 2023
Kevin Juhnke (515) 993-3862 (515) 247-5029 2021

Parks & Recreation Board

The Parks & Recreation Board develops policy and rules governing the City parks, pool, and cemeteries. They help plan overall park development and plans. The Parks & Recreation Board also serves as the City’s Tree Board. Terms are for three (3) years and expire on July 1 of date listed. The Parks & Recreation Board typically meets the first Monday of the month at 6:30 p.m. at Adel City Hall.

Home Other
Kari Johns (515) 988-8102 (641) 332-3810 2021
Patricia Ehrenfried (641) 745-0264 2023
Jeremy Brancheau (402) 889-9877 2023
Rich Miller (515) 681-6364 2022
Melissa Heikes (Chair) (515) 201-3129 (515) 727-1154 2023
Ryan Steinfeldt (515) 822-1207 2021

Historic Preservation Commission

The purpose of the Historical Commission is to promote the educational, cultural, economic and general welfare of the public through the recognition, enhancement, and perpetuation of districts and sites of historical and cultural significance. Terms are for three (3) years and expire July 1 of date listed.

Home Other
Rich Hughes (Chair) (515) 993-4346 2021
Cori Pickett (703) 577-5207 2023
Vonzdale ‘Vonz’ Odem (515) 993-3049 2021
Debora Christenson (515) 993-4734 (515) 271-2957 2022
Robert Hall (515) 993-4264 (515) 240-9265 2022

Representatives to the Central Iowa Regional Housing Authority

Shirley McAdon (515) 993-4862
Steve Nichols – Alt. (515) 993-4525

Representative to Dallas County Emergency Management Commission

Bob Ockerman (515) 238-9835

Landfill Representative

Shirley McAdon (515) 993-4862

County E-911 Commission

Bob Ockerman (515) 238-9835

Council Representative to Adel Partners/Chamber of Commerce

Shirley McAdon (515) 993-4862

Metro Advisory Council

Jim Peters (515) 993-4436
Shirley McAdon — Alt. (515) 993-4862

Representatives to the Central Iowa Regional Transportation and Planning Alliance (CIRPTA)

Police Committee

Anthony Brown (515) 993-4525
Kip Overton — Alt. (515) 993-4525

Technical Committee

Kip Overton (515) 993-4525
Anthony Brown — Alt. (515) 993-4525

Greater Dallas County Development Alliance

Anthony Brown (515) 993-4525
Jodi Selby — Alt. (515) 657-1315

Dallas County Local Housing Trust Fund, Inc. Board

Jamie Bergkamp (515) 993-1000